Guest Reviews

Write a Review
unknown, RI, US
Reviewed: May 5, 2017
Property
We arrived in the village of Mosteiros coming down the hills with dramatic views of the ocean. to arrive at the Stonehouse and see the absolutely amazing view off the terrace to find out that it was all ours for the week! Locals were great, foods were fantastic, wine was endless, sunsets were great. Wind was blowing hard. Natural pool below was fantastic in the sunshine "63F. Very cold when it came out. Unable to do a free dive to the heave winds/rain. But had fantastic time exploring the area. Would definitely come back again! Warwick USA
View Property: Stonehouse
Reviewed: Mar 7, 2017
Property Manager
I don't know how common it is to submit a review before a stay, but I felt compelled to. My family and I are planning a trip to the Azores in late July, and because we had a great experience back in 2011 when we stayed at Quinta das Acacias, we reached out to Ed and Bonita to see what properties they had available. After booking with them again, I felt it important to share with anyone else considering booking with Vacation Home Management Azores how well my family has been treated so far. Bonita has been extremely helpful, professional, and friendly. In my mind she has gone out of her way to make sure all of our needs are going to be looked after. She went so far as to arrange a car for us in Terceira for another leg of our trip. It can be nerve wracking making travel arrangements so far into the future, and so far away from home. Trust is a big deal for me. Ed and Bonita have earned the trust of my family and myself because of our past experience, and the way they operate their business. Don't hesitate to put your trust in Vacation Home Management Azores. You will will have less to worry about, and can focus on enjoying beautiful Sao Miguel.
Reviewed: Feb 20, 2017
Property Manager
Ed and Bonita were gracious hosts.
Property
We booked a two-bedroom cottage at Quinta Das Acacias for a quiet week's stay in the off-season. We loved the gardens and grounds, with the thoughtful plantings of perennials that flourish in the volcanic soil. We enjoyed the hammocks and listening to the songbirds while sitting on the porch. The cottage was immaculate, and well-stocked for cooking, with a full size stove and refrigerator. The weather turned cold during our stay, and we enjoyed using the wood stove. Bonita and Ed were gracious hosts, and provided detailed maps for local stores and restaurants. The location was close to all the island's sights, but once back on the grounds, we felt like we were in our own little world. It was the perfect location for a restful vacation.
View Property: Quinta cottage #2
Wayne, US
Reviewed: Jan 23, 2017
Property Manager
Bonita is extremely helpful sending information, answering questions, offering suggestions and making reservations, from the rental car to restaurant reservations. She always answered promptly and professionally. Ed is a wealth of information about the Azorean culture, gardening, and doing business on the island.
Property
This is my 4th visit to Quinta das Acacias. I won't stay anywhere else on Sao Miguel. The central location makes getting around the island very easy. The property grounds are stunning and peaceful. The hammocks are a wonderful addition and adds to the relaxation of the property. The cottages are immaculately clean, modern and homey feeling. The completely stocked kitchen makes cooking-in very easy. Wifi is a plus. I like to think of this as my home-away-from-home.
View Property: Quinta cottage #1
Rye, US
Reviewed: Jan 20, 2017
Property Manager
Your friends from St Thomas Aguinas High School thank you very much for your hospitality and generosity. Your cabins and property are gorgeous and so comfortable! The traditional meal (bacalhau) you prepared for us was absolutely delicious. We very much enjoyed touring your beautiful island and visiting the orphanage and school. The Azorean people are so pleasant and friendly. We will come back to visit again and stay at the Quinta. Stay helathy and walk this earth in balance! St Thomas Aguinas High School students, USA
View Property: Quinta cottage #3
Rye, US
Reviewed: Jan 20, 2017
Property
Thank you for everything! The place is beautiful. Also thank you fo r a great dinner. WE hope that someday we will be able to come back and visit again! Sincerely Saint Thomas Aguinas Studentsm , USA
View Property: Quinta cottage #6
unknown, ZZ, DE
Reviewed: Jan 5, 2017
Property
We could just repeat what was said before! We had a great relaxing holidays and enjoyed very much the view to the ocean while having breakfast. Walking to the minimart along the seaside was a good start into the day. Restaurants we can suggest: Caloura Bar-directly at the small harbour and seaside-good fish fresh to choose .Caloura village is below Agua de Pau at the sea. Silke and Oliver, Germany
View Property: Beira Mar
Carson City, US
Reviewed: Dec 8, 2016
Property Manager
Friendly, knowledgeable, and with no language barriers.
Property
Very modern, quiet , and centrally located with access to north and south shores of island.
View Property: Castanheiro
Carson City, US
Reviewed: Dec 8, 2016
Property Manager
Very easy to work with, no language barriers. Knowledge that properties will be clean safe, and fair pricing.
Property
Centrally located, clean, safe and friendly staff. Well maintained cottages and grounds.
View Property: Quinta cottage #2
unknown, IT
Reviewed: Dec 3, 2016
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Casa Hortensia
unknown, CA
Reviewed: Nov 16, 2016
Property Manager
the whole experience was wonderful.very gracious hosts,who were there to help with any issues,at any time.
Property
one of the most relaxing and beautiful places I have ever stayed at.the people are friendly,the country is very safe,and everyone is willing to be helpful whenever needed.
View Property: Stonehouse
Rye, US
Reviewed: Nov 15, 2016
Property Manager
Both Ed and Bonita are extremely helpful in offering to make reservations for car rental, restaurants, horse riding, etc. They know and love the island and are always willing to give suggestions for things to see and do. The maps and island information they offer in each cottage is helpful.
Property
I don't often return to a destination, as there is a great big world to explore. But Sao Miguel and especially Quinta das Acacias are the exception. The Quinta is a very special place - with manicured gardens, herbs to use for cooking, lavender for helping you sleep, amazing sculptures & art and fruit trees to supply delicious desserts. The genuine friendliness of Ed and Bonita makes the Quinta seem like home.
View Property: Quinta cottage #2
Reviewed: Nov 4, 2016
Property Manager
Very friendly, well knowledgeable.
Property
I stayed in Cabin #4 and was here for 2 weeks. I cannot say enough about the stay here. Upon enter the Quinta, it felt like entering a little kingdom of paradise. The flowers and plants were absolutely incredible. Walking around the beautiful grounds, I felt such peace and tranquillity. One cannot help but admire the beautiful lawns that have been manicured so carefully and looks like they have been cut with a pair of scissors. The hosts went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable. They are very knowledgeable of the island and no matter what part of this beautiful island I toured, it was beautiful, flowers everywhere! The Portuguese food was phenomenal! The property had fruit trees that boosted apples, figs, chestnuts, oranges and best of all bananas! the grounds were absolutely spotless and they took such care in making sure the grounds were immaculate! I felt so safe once the main gates were closed as the property is surrounded by a huge wall made of lava stones! My best part of the day was walking around the garden of paradise early in the morning, feeling the soft breeze, catching the odd lizard scampering through the brushes. It was a wonderful experience for me and I would truly recommend the Quinta das Acacias to anyone and I will do that for sure! Thank you Bonita and Senore Ed for the memories I have been able to take home with me! I will be back!
Reviewed: Oct 14, 2016
Property Manager
Thank you Bonita for your hospitality and helpful leaflets, tips, etc. which helped to make a very enjoyable holiday. Loved the walk round Sete Cidades and the whale watching trip.
Property
Beautiful and peaceful place here. We loved the gardens.
View Property: Quinta cottage #3
Reviewed: Oct 13, 2016
Property Manager
see above
Property
Cottage #2 was very clean, comfortable, had a gorgeous bathroom, a very well equipped clean kitchen, and a firm & comfortable king size bed. The grounds were fantastic. - Cottage #2 tait trs trs propre, comfortable, une belle salle de bain avec douche, une cuisine propre et bien quipe, un matelas King size ferme et comfortable. Les jardins aussi sont tellement beaux et relaxants. Managers Response Thank you Anne and Jeff for your detailed review. We look forward to seeing you again.
View Property: Quinta cottage #2
Reviewed: Oct 12, 2016
Property Manager
Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.
Property
Felt very comfortable and relaxed. Managers Response Thank you Paul for your great review. We look forward to helping you find your dream vacation home on your next visit.
View Property: Quinta cottage #3
Reviewed: Sep 26, 2016
Property Manager
Property
Wir kommen wieder, das sagt alles We will come back, this says all Managers Response Thank you for your review. It will be a pleasure to see you again.
View Property: Stonehouse
Dreux, ZZ, FR
Reviewed: Sep 16, 2016
Property
Have you ever dreamed for a nice place somewhere in the par of the earth? Then maybe, you feet have made you come here. It is a great place, a nice house in a beautiful garden full of grass, plants. We stayed 10 days here in the area of Mosteiros. the house has all you need with a beautiful view on the Atlantic Ocean. When the wind makes some gorgeous waves on the sea, you can watch them through the window... time stops! 1 hour later you still watch yet and yet.... Hiking around Lago Azul Mosteiros beach, many villages from Pilar do Bretanha to Capelas and of course Santa Barbara Beach. After your hiking and hiking? Some massages in the spa of Ponta Ferraria with the pleasure swimming in the pool of hot water. What is not very nice? Ribeira Grande, the fish harbour of Rabo de Peixe and the natural monument da Caldeira Velha About Ponta Delgada? Dont go there the Saturday afternoon-all the shops are closed. Go for driving, hiking , riding for the little roads of the island-Its less and out of touristic ways but its very very beautiful. Francois and Beatrice, France
View Property: Beira Mar
Reviewed: Aug 22, 2016
Property Manager
Bonita was friendly and welcoming and did everything she could to make us feel at home. Managers Response Hi Karine, Thank you for taking the time to complete our review form. It was a pleasure to meet both of you and look forward to your next stay at one our houses on Sao Miguel.
Property
We had a lovely stay in the Azalea house.
View Property: Casa Azalea
Reviewed: Aug 16, 2016
Property Manager
Property
a good apartment Managers Response Thank you for your review. To get you more information , please email us back as you have not left us your name on this review.
unknown, NL
Reviewed: Aug 15, 2016
Property Manager
Dear Tom (cat), Thank you for all the house dinners together at the BBQ site! It was great! We will cherish our memories with you in the hammock, watching the birds and lizards go by....Good we still have the pics.! Sorry we had to leave and our ways are now parted. Not because of you , Tom. It s us that had to move on, but we will meet again. XXX Arnout and Maria
View Property: Quinta cottage #3
Sorumsand, ZZ, NO
Reviewed: Aug 1, 2016
Property Manager
Thank you for another wonderful stay at Quinta das Acacias.
Property
We love the garden and everything about this island! This time we rented a motorbike (ANC Rent) and get the opportunity to see the island a new way! Best wishes from Mona and Hans Ola, Norway
View Property: Quinta cottage #6
unknown, US
Reviewed: Jul 17, 2016
Property
We loved the house -such amazing views and the blues and white are so restful. Our favorite things were all the places to swim and enjoy the beauty of the water. Each morning we went in the natural pools and the other days enjoyed swimming with dolphins and going in the thermal pools. The views in Set Cidades were breathtaking-although too foggy to hike the day we went. The concert of Viola da Terra was amazing if you are here next July. We enjoyed many restaurants-especially Gazidlas in the village and Paladares da Quinta, Saca Rolhoas Taverna in Relva-all treated us like family and gave us outstanding meals. From the hydrangeas all the way from the airport to the many blues of the waters, it was a beautiful place! and dont want to forget the naps in the hammocks after our morning adventures! Rick and Debbie Y., USA
View Property: Beira Mar
unknown, AVON, GB
Reviewed: Jul 16, 2016
Property Manager
Thanks for the maps, info-very helpful for us first-timers. See you again, Ruth , United Kingdom
Property
Your Quinta is a little bit of paradise in a most beautiful island! The concert evening was wonderful-we were so lucky to pick this week!
View Property: Quinta cottage #6
Livramento, UK
Reviewed: May 22, 2016
Property
What an amazing week here at the Azores and especially Stonehouse! We have loved every minute of our experience here. This was absolutely the best way for us to sepend our 5th year anniversary! Chicago, USA
View Property: Stonehouse